Cold slithering through you? Have some Carrot Cardamom Soup

When that cold damp sensation starts slithering through my bones so that I feel chilled from the inside out – there is only one thing to do. Put on a pot of soup. Well, two things, light a fire and put on a pot of soup. But, for this post it’s all about the soup. This superior low fat, low sodium recipe is adapted from one by the California Culinary Academy. I swap out their chicken stock for vegetable stock and decrease the amount of stock substantially so that I have a much thicker soup. Doubling the recipe increases the cooking time (I generally cook up a recipe and a half). The main thing about the cooking time is that you do want your carrots to be cooked well through. Otherwise, unless you use a juicer strength blender, your cream soup would be a tad gritty. No “al dente” carrots. A light crunch is good when they’re a side dish, not so much if you want a creamy soup. I also always start with the regular size carrots as I find them more flavorful – the mini peeled ones always taste a bit watery to me. Depending on my mood, I may also increase the amount orange rind for that fresh flavor it brings. As you’re adding the sherry at the beginning of cooking, the alcohol will burn off (kiddies won’t notice the flavor, for them I’d watch amount of cardamom). The sherry allows you to sauté the onions and carrots with much less oil. This soup has about 83 calories per cup, yet tastes so rich and hearty.

Carrot Cardamom Soup with Sherry

Adapted from the California Culinary Academy recipe
1 1/2 Cup chopped onion
1 1/2 TBL garlic (smooshed with back of knife or minced)
2 tsp oil
2/3 cup dry sherry
4 Cups sliced carrots
4 Cups low sodium stock (veggie or chicken)
2/3 Cup water
2 tsp cardamom
1 Cup lowfat or nonfat plain yogurt
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp grated orange peel

In your stockpot, sauté onion and garlic in oil and sherry until the onion is transparent (about 10 minutes, do not brown). Add the carrots, stir, put a lid on and cook about 8 minutes, periodically stirring. Add the stock and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer about 30 minutes (again stir occasionally).  This is where you want to be sure to test your carrot slices – no crunch! I slice mine thinly in my 4 Cup Cuisinart. If you hand slice, your slices will be thicker and take more time to cook. Add cardamom, nutmeg, yogurt and orange rind. Puree (stick blender or do in batches in counter style blender). Taste. If you like add more orange rind or cardamom. Warm through and serve. If you want to be fancy, place a tablespoon of yogurt in the center of the bowl and grate some fresh nutmeg just over that area. This soup is good both warm for these wintry nights and cold for your summer entertaining. This recipe makes ~6 two cup servings (as an appetizer to a large meal, you’d use just one cup and it’ll go further).

Kitchen tip – if you’re using a Cuisinart to slice your carrots – run your onion through first and the thin slices will cook pretty quickly.  Then, slice some extra carrots while you’re doing them. Store in a tightly covered bowl and sprinkle them over your salads or, my favorite, toss in with boiling pasta in those last 5 minutes of cooking so you get a bit of extra veggie in your pasta dish, no hassle.

23 comments on “Cold slithering through you? Have some Carrot Cardamom Soup

  1. This sounds so incredible right now. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Lisa says:

    I absolutely love cardamom. It must be amazing having it added to a carrot soup. Delicious idea.

  3. BLOGitse says:

    That looks yummy!

  4. I posted a soothing ginger carrot soup on my blog.. but I love the addition of cardamom which is one of my favorite spices.. thanks for sharing

    • Maggie says:

      I love ginger as well so will take a peek at yours. Have ginger on the counter that I’d hope to candy, but didn’t get to. Still good but I like extra fresh if I’m candying it. So, ginger recipes are up for me.

  5. Joy says:

    I very quickly burned through all my cardamom this fall and Christmas season and haven’t replaced it yet. I love the extra bit of depth and warmth it adds, especially in comparison to cinnamon. Beautiful soup, I made the mistake of a few larger al dente pieces of carrot, it does make a difference!

    • Maggie says:

      Yes, I’ve had crunchy “cream” of carrot soup enough that I have to push myself and test the carrots to get the texture I want. This soup had been my first introduction to cardamom ((years back) and I do keep an eye out for recipes with it now.

    • Maggie says:

      Yes, I’ve had crunchy “cream” of carrot soup enough that I have to push myself and test the carrots to get the texture I want. This soup had been my first introduction to cardamom ((years back) and I do keep an eye out for recipes with it now.

  6. Martha (MM) says:

    Mmmm, this looks delicious!

  7. Marla Hansen says:

    I will be giving this a try in the next few days. It looks delicious and the weather here is brutally cold.

  8. Yum! This soup is SO my kind of food. Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  9. I will add this to recipe box…

    {thanks so much for linking to creative juice thursday}
    <3
    nicolette

  10. Miz Helen says:

    Hi Maggie,
    Your Carrot Soup looks delicious. I would like to invite you to bring a dish to my Full Plate Thursday. Thank you for sharing and you have a great week!

  11. girlichef says:

    Lovely flavors! The cardamom, nutmeg and orange peel must compliment the carrot perfectly. This sounds so delicious…thanks so much for sharing it w/ the hearth and soul hop this week :D

  12. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by girlichef, Maggie Ceodraiocht. Maggie Ceodraiocht said: @fandw Carrot Cardamom Soup with Sherry, adapted from CA Culinary Academy recipe. http://bit.ly/fRIQVT [...]

  13. LIB says:

    Looks Delish!

    can’t wait to try it, just grabeed extra carrots today.

    Blessings!
    LIB
    http://bit.ly/iiztOJ

  14. i love anything that has cardamom in it…and the idea of warm carrots whipped into a soup with cardamom makes me swoon! thank you for sharing with tuesday night supper club!

  15. loridelee says:

    My hubby LOVES carrot soup. I am going to have to give this one a try! It looks absolutely DELICIOUS! Thanks for linking up to Fun w/ Food Friday @ Paisley Passions. Hope you stop by again soon :)

  16. karen says:

    This looks delicious and perfect for my Beat the Winter Blues Party! Tomorrows topic is comfort food, come and link up @ http://goodbycityhellosuburbs.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

