Warm ‘n Hearty Spanish-style Black Bean Soup

This weekend they’re forecasting yet another record-breaking cold storm with snow, perhaps breaking a 30 year record with snow in the Bay Area. Stocked up on the water, the batteries, the dry wood – dry being the operative word – and food. When I’m looking at a storm that could take out my power for days, I like to plan dishes that can be cooked or reheated in one simple pot. If you have to go to the garage to get your jugs of icy water to wash dishes because there’s no electricity for your well , you get very selective about how many dishes to employ throughout the day. During the last power outage I was so happy I’d made my wonderful pot of lentil soup as an easy go to, spicy meal.  For this possible outage due to storm, I decided to indulge in a nice large pot of my garlic laden Spanish-style black bean soup.

The chipotle chili powder in this recipe really brings a nice flavor and depth – with just a tad of heat – to this dish. It’s worth searching out. I looked over a few recipes in developing this one; it’s only very loosely based on one of the back of a Sunny Select bag of beans.

Spanish-style black bean soup

16oz bag Black Beans
7 cups water
5 large stalks of celery chopped
5 large carrots sliced
8+ large cloves of garlic chopped (I use about half a head)
1 medium onion chopped
3 tablespoons olive oil
3/4 teaspoons dry mustard
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
1/2 lemon

Sort and rinse your black beans using either a quick soak or overnight soak method. For quick soak cover with water boil, for 2 min. and let stand in a tightly covered pot for more than an hour. Discard the soaking water. For overnight soak, sort and rinse the beans, cover with water in a large pot, let stand overnight, drain soaking water. Put the oil into your soup pot; add the onion and garlic and sauté until the onion is translucent. Add the chopped celery and sliced carrots, sautéing a few minutes longer. Add the dry mustard, chili powder, and chipotle chili, stir while on the heat to bloom the flavors for a minute or so. Add the water and prepared black beans. Simmer for one hour; test that the beans are very tender. If not cook until the beans are tender. Remove from heat and squeeze in the juice from the lemon. Purée (stick blender, food processor or blender) leaving it a little bit chunky. I like my soups very thick, you may want to thin with warm water at this point. Salt to taste. Serve with a dollop of sour cream or yogurt. This soup reheats well.

The picture linky parties I participate in are linked at the bottom of this post.

5 comments on “Warm ‘n Hearty Spanish-style Black Bean Soup

  1. Amy says:

    I love black beans so much and miss them since we’ve moved to Africa. Thanks for making my mouth water.

  2. Candace says:

    Yum! We are still in the midst of winter in New England and black bean soup would be perfect this week. I think I have absolutely everything to make this. Thank you for the recipe!

  3. It sounds like you’re having the same weather that we are here in Anchorage, everything is chilled with a biting frozen wind… and brrrr. Your soup sounds perfect to me right about now, and I wish I had the ingredients to make it! MMMMMMMMMMMM

  4. Hi Maggie! You know, I rarely think about making black bean soup, but I do adore it! I will have to grab a bag of beans and make this because it is so rich in nutrients and a hearty meatless meal! Thanks so much for sharing it on the hearth and soul hop! All the best, Alex

  5. Martha (MM) says:

    This looks so perfect for a chilly evening!

Leave a Reply

