Handcrafted Christmas – Printed Linen Towels

It’s crunch time for crafters and bakers. Have my elf hat on and been busily working and creating these past few weeks – just haven’t written about it here. Packages must arrive and be opened before I can post about them. :-)  First up – decorated holiday towels. I love my embroidery, but some images can take as long as 6 to 8 hours to stitch out (egads), printing to fabric goes much faster. It’s not quite as durable in the long run – but for decorative items will last years (and if you’re wanting to print on a shirt for your child – well, one season with washing plus their growth isn’t bad).

1.    Grab some linen or linen blend fabric, preshrink.

2.   Hem for a towel. (See Loving Linen post for measurements, suppliers, complete details plus care of linen information).

3.   Sew a decorative stitch at hem.

4.   Select an image (web search for copyright free images or check out what folks are posting at Pinterest). I manipulate my images plus text in PowerPoint to place on an 8 ½ X 11 page as I work in PowerPoint a great deal. This particular set used the June Taylor prepared for printing fabric but I have used others.

5.   Print to prepared fabric sheet

6.   Fix image per directions (iron a lot, wet, iron some more).

    a.   Had one sheet run at the wet stage, they all bleed a bit. I iron and let sit overnight before the wet step now.

7.   Stitch your image to the towel.

8.   Create a Merry Christmas patch, fringe around patch and stitch patch to towel. Actually, I glued the patches on with Aleene’s Ok to Wash it Glue and I’m a tad worried as I’ve noticed a few items I glued with this came apart shortly after. Will stitch in the future.

9.   Wrap and send to a lucky gift recipient – isn’t this the cutest addition to a Victorian themed Christmas kitchen?

This post is participating in Sundays in My City. Most posters there are incredible photographers, it’s a fun Linky to visit. I’m also sharing at Rednesday, Today’s Creative Blog, Tutorial Tuesday at Hope Studios, Linda at Coastal Charm, Beyond the Picket Fence

7 comments on “Handcrafted Christmas – Printed Linen Towels

  1. Vidya Sury says:

    Amazingly pretty. So tempted to try this. Your blog is such a pleasure to visit!

  2. I’ve always wanted to make pillows with this process, but never have gotten around to it. These towels are SO lovely!
    Happy Christmas and Merry REDnesday!
    Carol

  3. Maggie says:

    Carol – it is So easy – at least the printing part. The wetting part always scares me a tad but it is easy. I’ve used the Printed Treasures brand inkjet printable fabric as well. Go for it – I think you’ll be pleased.

  4. LaVoice says:

    A great work of art. However, I will have to leave that type work to you.

  5. unknownmami says:

    What a great idea! They look wonderful and such a thoughtful way to give a gift.

  6. BLOGitse says:

    Beautiful idea!
    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

