Sing a song of sixpence; of birds and pies

Kinda a “here’s looking at you kid” glance (perfect shot for a bit of anthropomorphic captioning). While not what I would consider “frame-able” quality (egads that light), I’m happy to finally capture a few shots of the local chubby Western bluebird – a rather skittish gent who takes off at the slightest whisper of sound.

The sweet tooth has been demanding attention lately. Antidote? Easy as 1 2 3.

One: Crème fraîche.

Easily make your own Crème fraîche from buttermilk and heavy cream. To 1 cup heavy cream add one tablespoon buttermilk and allow to sit out for 24 hours. I like to cover the bowl with a damp piece of muslin for the overnight; then wrap it tightly with plastic. If you don’t use plastic – expect a very thick skin on top.

Once it’s as thick as you like, place it in the refrigerator – it will continue to thicken a tad. Some folks make it with yogurt, although buttermilk will deliver a more authentic crème fraîche flavor. I’ve seen recommendations that ultra pasteurized heavy cream takes longer to make. Ultra pasteurized is all that’s available in my local market without a special health food store excursion.

Mine do seem to stay thin for quite a while before gelling (but I do keep the house pretty cool overnight, which is when I usually make it). You can leave it out for an additional 8 to 24 hours if needed. The nifty bacteria in the buttermilk are what keeps it from going bad. Some recipes have you warm the cream first – this isn’t necessary unless you’re in a rush. You can also whip it if, once done, you’d like it a tad lighter.

Two: Place a pie crust in your baking dish. Mix a pack of frozen peaches (16 oz) with 1 tablespoon of sugar, 1 tablespoon of flour, and an optional dash of cinnamon. Place in crust, fold back pie crust edges and sprinkle a little white sugar over the top. I generally let the peaches defrost about half way. The resulting tart has a very fresh peach flavor with still firm peaches in its filling.

Three: Bake about 45 minutes (start checking at 40) at 375 degrees.

This post is participating in Sunday’s in my city. C’mon by and see what others around the globe are doing.

Wiki: Song of Sixpence

6 comments on “Sing a song of sixpence; of birds and pies

  1. Vidya Sury says:

    Your visitor is so adorable! i wish I could hold him in my hand. The photos’ coloring is breathtaking, Maggie. I missed your photos.

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks Vidya! These migrators are much more skittish than my usual hummingbird population. They seem to get used to me and understand my presence means full, fresh feeders.

  2. BLOGitse says:

    Oh no. All sweets are forbidden for me – trying to lose some weight…:)

    • Maggie says:

      I tell myself it’s fruit with just one tablespoon of sugar over so many servings (yes, there is that piecrust .. and needed calcium in that cream :-)

  3. unknownmami says:

    My husband made crème fraîche recently. It is a pretty simple and wonderful process.

    P.S. He’s also hanging his head in shame for not having thanked you for the seeds.

Leave a Reply

