Murphys Law

Of course, no sooner than I had posted about our warm weather – a blustery system moved in.

You can see the sleet hitting the railing as the Anna hummingbird fuels under the overhang. The black chinned hummers are still chasing them from the feeders; but the Anna’s are less skittish around me and feed when I’m there and the black chinned take to the wind.

Our Western scrub Jay was out and about;

But just sat out in the elements as the rain came down.

The rain, though welcomed, was short-lived.

Although the clouds gave me something to play with in capturing sunsets.

We’ve been back to brilliant sunshine in all its splendor with that brief storm the exception, rather than the rule, in this unseasonably warm winter. My dwarf snapdragon has continued to thrive in the protection of the porch.

For those of you who’ve been considering a jaunt out to the Sierra’s – Murphys Irish Days is coming right up and it’s one of our more lively events. Ironstone is hosting their “Daffodil Days” the same weekend (March 17th), so time to make your reservations.

This post is participating in Sundays in My City, be sure to stop by and see what others around the globe have to share.

14 comments on “Murphys Law

  1. BLOGitse says:

    I’ve never seen blue birds like that, beautiful!
    Have a good week ahead!

  2. Tara R. says:

    These are all wonderful shots. The bird captures are beautiful.

  3. Keetha says:

    I’m wondering how cold your blustery was – – – I’m thinking not REAL cold if you still have hummers!

    Our hummers (ruby throated are the only kind we get) return around Mother’s Day.

  4. startraci says:

    Those blue jays are so beautiful. I love the juxtaposition of sleet with the hints of spring from birds and flowers. Just lovely.
    :-)
    Traci

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks Traci – I was pretty astounded to see the jays sitting out in the storm – there were plenty of protected places under the shrubs – but at least I could capture a (wet) shot.

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks Traci – I was pretty astounded to see the jays sitting out in the storm – there were plenty of protected places under the shrubs – but at least I could capture a (wet) shot.

  5. Unknown Mami says:

    I love the scrub jay.

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks – Stellar jays have that cute little head fluff/crown thing happening but I don’t seem to get them. The color on these birds is amazing – no photoshopping happening here – that’s them.

  6. Oggi ho comprato i semi di Bocca di leone, domani li pianto :D

    Today I bought Snapdragon seeds, plant them tomorrow: D

Leave a Reply

