In like a lamb and out like a lion

Spring?  The phrase is supposed to be in like a lion and out like a lamb for March, but hey – this year has been anything but normal. Yes folks, it’s snowing today – not unusual for some of your locales, but very much so here.

Above is Narcissus Pink Pride today. As soon as I saw this on the computer, I went inside for a flashlight and camp lantern to try to get a bit of light into the shot – but in the few moments that took, this flower had hit the ground. Below is a shot of Pink Pride last weekend.

Scilla Siberica today, big fluffy snowflakes are weighing these down.

Scilla Siberica last weekend

Narcissus Dickcissel today

Last weekend, a happier Narcissus Dickcissel

Ruby Swiss Chard

Calibrachoa

Last weekend, a hawk. I’d been thinking I hadn’t seen many hawks. Predator birds. Also heard the screech owls move back in. Predator bird. Haven’t seen ANY hummingbirds at the feeders, unusual for me. Hoping the snow of St Patty’s Day simply sent them to lower elevations for a bit (Cornell notes they “eat smaller birds”, sigh).

This weekend, really big wet snowflakes, sadly empty feeders.

This post is participating in Sundays in My City – stop by to see what others are doing in their neck of the woods.

21 comments on “In like a lamb and out like a lion

  1. Raymonde says:

    The snow and flowers make for amazing shots at the expense of the flowers, what a pity, hope they recover.

    I look at your shots and think that we have just had a mini unseasonal heat wave…

    Have a great week :)

  2. Vidya Sury says:

    Such pretty photos, Maggie. I love the last one most, even though the others are just as lovely. I’ve never seen snow you know? Since mid-Feb, its been so warm here. And getting worse. Only a few places in North India get snow. The frost looks like icecream!

    • Maggie says:

      Vidya – Snow is lovely, but I grew up in a New England snow climate (this is supposed to be below snow line so I get snow usually just a few times per month over the winter). It REALLY isn’t any fun to live in day in day out – having to shovel out of the house almost daily, shovel out the parking space, if not all cars fit in a garage, leave the car running a bit and you might need some fancy de-icer thing just to get in the door, cold fingers and toes. Frostbite warnings (have to cover your nose, wasn’t fashionable to wear a ski mask). I get just enough here that it’s a fun treat, but I deliberately didn’t go any further notth.

  3. Wayne says:

    Wow, what great photos. Looks like Mother Nature sent a nice warning to those flowers who decided to blossom too early.

    • Maggie says:

      Hi Wayne – Thanks! it’s not too early here, right on time for the daffodil and winter bulbs. This does happen to them quite a bit though – I know it happened last year as well. There’s a daffofil festival here adn it seems the last 2 years the poor little things get beaten down just in time for the festival (my previous few years here, the timing plus weather was fine).

  4. Tara R. says:

    The photos of the flowers under the snow are beautiful, I hope they survived the cold.

  5. Maggie says:

    Well, the snow already melted and they look ok – still raining, so they’re not upright. If the sun comes out, they’ll recover their height but I think we have rain in the near future so I guess I’ll have horizontal daffodils.

    Thanks – I think the chard is my favorite (it and the dickcissel have enough light).

  6. BLOGitse says:

    Poor flowers…stay strong! :)
    In Helsinki it’s been cold too but no snow…actually it was sunny today but wind was cold. Our flowers are tiny, no flowers yet…
    Have a good week ahead!

  7. startraci says:

    Wow! The contrast between the two beautiful extremes of seasons is so striking and lovely!

    Thanks for sharing. Have a happy Sunday.
    :-)
    Traci

  8. Keetha says:

    Snow IS USUAL for here this time of year – - – and yet we haven’t had any to speak of for the entire month of March – - – even had two weeks of 80+ degree days earlier.

    None of my tulips or hyacinths have bloomed yet – - – but I do have the promise of several buds – -

    • Maggie says:

      Keetha – My sister and I were just chatting – they’re outside of Boston – and her hubs got a new snow blower this year (he does their place, my mom’s, his mom’s) adn he hsn’t gotten to use it even once this year. We can’t remember ever having a winter in Massachusetts where you didn’t regularly need a shovel to get out of the house! She says a broom has easily handled the tiny flurries they’ve seen.

  9. What absolutely stunning pictures. While it is sad to see the flowers taken down by the snow, they make some truly, truly gorgeous photos.

  10. Robyn Engel says:

    Your images are captivating. Thank you for sharing them.

    Be well.

  11. MamaTim says:

    Came earlier leaving a comment but I guess big mouth www gobbled all the words down, LOL..

    I love seeing how pretty the flowers are. I love flowers too but not very good at gardening. ;(
    Thanx for sharing your side of the world, hope to see more in future. Hugs

  12. unknownmami says:

    Poor little cold plants.

Leave a Reply

