Apron Redo

Like many of us, the Siren’s song of aaaaaawwwwww kitchen apron hit me hard.  Time spent at the sewing machine, the embroidery machine and printing images to cloth has resulted in apron collections for me, those I create handmade Christmas and birthday gifts for and a local charity.  My most recently completed creation is this bright cupcake apron, fabric from JoAnn‘s.

I have a really ancient Simplicity pattern (8106) that had you put buttonholes on a towel piece and buttons on the waist band to fasten a handy cloth right at hand.  I saw it when perusing my patterns and realized, given my complete penchant for creating a total mess (how do other folks keep flour from drifting about or drips and smears from adorning their countertops?) that I must start doing this.

 

Excuse the look of the pattern – when my kitty companions were young they found their way into a pattern box.  For those of you who know cats, ‘nuff said.

As I was doing a full size apron, the buttons looked better on the hip than waist. I made two at the same time. This one was a gift for a Patricia, thus I embroidered the Embroidery Library Script P on the towel.

I’d also seen a cute heart shaped fingertip pot holder pattern over at Martha Stewart (like her or hate her – she has great recipes and craft patterns, remember she did build her empire starting there, wouldn’t have made it far if were just crap. Her scone and biscotti recipes are staples in my baking for gifts – and me – repertoire).  But I digress. Thought the pot holder would be a nice addition.  Altered mine from her pattern (quilting both the top and the bottom and changing the shape a tad). At the time, I simply cut and made two aprons and stored teh other. Took it out, added a new towel and pot holder and made it part of the Master Gardener donation 2014.

In addition to the half apron, the old pattern also had a simple chef’s apron that I used to rely heavily upon – had a friend who would borrow it often as well.  I really did get excellent use from that pattern. When you find the patterns on cloth irresistible and yearn to possess a fabric the way Gollum obsessed to possess the ring, you look for uses and ways to display that fabric.  The old pattern allowed one solid canvas to display a prized fabric.

But the old pattern no longer resonates for me.  I still love the fabric for my fall apron.  It’s in great shape as the Thanksgiving holiday had been rarely celebrated in my tiny previous home but reserved for relatives with the space to accommodate.  It’s now time for a redo and upcycle.  The cupcake apron was a combo of two patterns. The apron from Simplicity 8720 view E shortened and the flounce from Butterick 6567 also shortened to fit width wise.  I line all of my aprons with muslin. Being a fabric enthusiast, this means that for light colored cottons any pattern you may be wearing underneath the apron will not interfere with the look of it, should you make a mess, stains have less opportunity to bleed through and I strongly prefer the look of a lined apron.

First I added the flounce across the bottom of the apron from a sparkly brown I had in my stash.

Then I added binding made from the flounce material to the apron and binding from the leaf material to the flounce.  On my about page, I use a magpie as analogy – you’ll find it’s a common one for me as I like sparkly things and fabrics.  Fabrics with a sponged gold or iridescence make me quiver in anticipation of what I might create with them.  Think Michael Miller’s Fairy Frost (that I’ve already been stockpiling for my Christmas sewing).  The brown is perfectly sparkled with flecks of gold throughout. The original leaf fabric also has a sponged irridescence.

However improved, this still needs something and is a work in progress.  My intent is to use my embroidery machine to create a lined maple leaf pocket for this apron.  I’ll blow up one of my appliqué patterns from Embroidery Library.  I’d found some brown towels and tan towels, but neither color is right and this isn’t a gift. I’ll just have to make myself reach for my towels and potholders.  When completed I’ll post the final picture here.

11 comments on “Apron Redo

  1. Lori S. says:

    Beautiful aprons! Thanks SO much for joining in on Thrilling Thursdays @ Paisley Passions. I love to see the creative talent of other fellow bloggers. Hope you to see you again soon 🙂
    ~Lori S.
    Thrilling Thursdays @Paisley Passions

  2. Angelene says:

    I love P’s apron! How handy is the towel on the hip??? Fantastic!!!
    A
    http://www.littlebuggietutu.blogspot.com

  3. Leesa Miller says:

    You made some pretty cute aprons. I love the add ons too.

  4. Misty says:

    Love the aprons!! I’ve had my apron pieces cut out for MONTHS and have yet to sew it together! I guess I should quit procrastinating and just get it done.

    Thanks for linking @Creative Itch’s “Sew Cute Tuesday”!

  5. Karen says:

    LOVE the cupcake material and looked back on your zipper bags which were beautiful. Nice website.

  6. Bridgette says:

    Cute! Thanks for linking up with Anything Related! ~Bridgette

  7. Cindy Adkins says:

    This is amazing!!! I LOVE your aprons!!! Thank you SO much for linking these up to the Creative Spirit Challenge!!!
    XO

  8. Karen says:

    WOW…what a transformation to your autumn apron! It looks so different! I love the cupcake one too & have never seen a little towel & pan holder attached, what a brilliant idea!

    Oh and I have cats so definitely nuff said hehe X

  9. Maggie says:

    Thanks all – got a few more postings on aprons in the works – stay tuned!

  10. Sono uno più bello dell’altro, bravissima!

  11. Wilma says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site. It’s
    simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with
    this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Chrome.

    Outstanding Blog!

Leave a Reply

