Jacques’ Cranberry Chutney

With the influx of guests, decorating and tasks for the holidays I’ve let my posting fall off. Time for a few quick hits.

We all have favorite recipes, collections we go to no matter what appears in a magazine, food show or blog. Some because it would be heresy to deviate from. In my family that would be Nana’s hardsauce that she’d pour over plum puddings. Never liked plum pudding as a kid but a bowl of hardsauce would suit me just fine. If any family member held the holidays and tried something other than nana’s hardsauce – well, that would just be an insult to her memory. Other go to recipes are the ones you make and sigh, perfection. Why try any other chocolate cake , hermit cookie, veggie chili ,whatever once you’ve found the one recipe that truly rings your chimes for flavor, texture, ease of preparation and your other selection criteria.  

For me, Jacques Pepin’s Cranberry Chutney from Jacques and Julia Cooking at Home is one of these recipes. Doesn’t matter what I see in blogs, tv or magazines – this is my go to recipe.

I rarely deviate from the recipe as published but have seen the addition by some of dried cranberries to a sauce which might be interesting. If I were hosting a meal with many kiddies, I might swap the lemon for orange. Be forewarned, this recipe is TART. But, I like tart. The chutney is not only lovely with turkey; I also enjoy it as a topping for cream cheese on a bagel or toast. If you’re a fan of tart lemon flavor and a fan of cranberries – this could be your next go to recipe as well.

This post is participating in the linky parties noted below.

8 comments on “Jacques’ Cranberry Chutney

  1. Lisa says:

    I love it when there’s just one recipe that is so perfect and can’t be beat. This looks like a real winner.

  2. Allison says:

    Gotta love a recipe that you know is good and won’t steer you wrong! Thanks for linking up again!

  3. Christy says:

    There is just something about a tried and true recipe – it is what traditions are made from. I really think I would like this chutney – I don’t like the incredible sweetness of most cranberry sauces. Thanks for linking this to the Hearth and Soul Hop!

  4. I have such fond memories of watching that show with my mom. She’s a cooking show addict, but I found the tone of that show to be just right (and I was always cheering for Julia’s viewpoints). I like the addition of cayenne in this recipe. I bet that gives it a nice punch. Thank you for sharing this classic with the Hearth and Soul hop.

  5. Looks great and I just love Julia! She was such a leader and so gracious as well. Thanks for sharing this delicious chutney, I like tart too!

  6. Brenda says:

    This is a lovely change from the usual cranberry sauce and I like tart too! Thank you so much for linking up to Cookbook Sundays!

  7. I love the tartness of lemon and cranberries, so this would surely be right up my alley. Thanks for sharing it 🙂
    Sue

  8. Melodie says:

    That’s a great idea to photo copy the recipe from the book and attach it as your photo. I should try that! And while I don’t like cranberry anything my husband loves it and this recipe looks awesome. Thanks for sharing it at Vegetarian Foodie Fridays last week!

Leave a Reply

