Fun Easy and Fast Holiday Jewelry

The handcrafted holiday jewelry I’ve created hits 2 ends of the spectrum – there’s the jeans, tennies, fun, inexpensive and easy jewelry and then there’s the little black dress, pumps, office Christmas party, night out jewelry with the latter being designed with wear year round applicability. This post will cover some fun, fast, easy to make and inexpensive jewelry.

First up is the quickie earring collection.  The snowmen and wreaths were buttons. I used my dremel to cut off the shanks, then glued them (the brown glue you see is wood glue, not sure what I used on the others) to ‘flat pad posts’ that you can pick up from JoAnn, Michael or my favorite mail order supplier Rings n Things. Be careful to generally place your post towards the top of the earring – the big snowmen are ok by a hair lower and they wouldn’t hang quite right.

The trees and candy canes in the top photo were from Michaels, they periodically have small glass ornaments with the small tree decorations or on aisle end caps. Those just needed a jump ring to attach to the ear wires and they’re done.  Sometimes I switch how you see the pairs in that top photo and wear one red and one green. In the photo directly above, those candy canes became earrings for my niece. Be careful when purchasing them – in the packet above the loop was broken off one of the wreaths. I knew that when I got it – the packets were easily worth the price for the remaining pieces.

These plastic Christmas tree lights had been carried in the two sizes you see in packets I believe were brand “Dress It Up” buttons.  Glass seed beads are between the lights, and I’d laid out the two strands as I worked to count the right number of beads so that the small light in the inner strand would sit in between 2 lights on the bigger light strand. For light beads I use a bead thread or cord – the “tigertails” and wire often crimp with small beads. They are great if you’re working with heavy stone beads (think turquoise chunks) as the drilled inner hole of stone beads often have sharp edges that cut through thread or cording. For light beads, they’ll lay naturally and smoothly with the threads and finer fiber cords. I’d placed a red glass spacer at either end of the lights.  The earrings are one head pin with seed beads and a light at the bottom plus a light that fits directly onto the loop of the ear wire. The nice thing about these is that they are so light – perfect if you plan on shopping and running about all day.

 

Finally, another quick necklace from the glass ornaments (the long candies were the third piece in the packets shown above with the candy canes and wreaths). This is one that if I have time I’ll take apart and do differently. Again, the glass beads were truly a find at Michaels. With it sitting at the neck, I originally thought the fact that side beads hang lower than the center bead would look ok – but I don’t care for it. Also, if I lived in a climate that was tropical in the winter and was wearing sleeveless light dresses the weight of single strand seed beads might be right, but it’s not. Considering using organza ribbon instead of seed beads or simply using these for earrings or a shawl pin but just haven’t decided.

If you’re interested in following my blog of crafts, sewing and recipes – just click to subscribe in email, follow in RSS, Facebook, Twitter or Networked Blogs.

This post is participating in the linky parties noted below.

Leave a Reply

