Peace and Joy this Winter Solstice (Mean Geimhridh)!

I enjoy giving a nod to the seasons and to the myth and lore that are part of my heritage through the ancient dwellers of Eire. So, cozy up to the fire of your Yule log decorated with greenery, splashed with a tad of cider or ale and sprinkled with flour. Decorate your home with holly, mistletoe and greenery so that the nature spirits seeking comfort from the cold will feel welcomed. Give a nod to the goddess Brighid, patroness of craftsmanship (among many other skills) whose flame of inspiration is especially bright as the sun makes its re-emergence in the sky.

This is a time of rebirth, with traditions from the Etruscans to the Egyptians to the Norse, Greek, Christians, Native Americans and more celebrating the life death and rebirth of their gods. The light of the sun also makes this an optimum time for considering and progressing new beginnings.

A toast by the fire is in order. However, mead is not my beverage of choice (tried it once and that was enough). I did promise in my Murphys post to share the dessert beverage Jonathan at  Val du Vino introduced us to.

Val du Vino Holiday Nog

1.       Wet the rim of your glass and tap it in cocoa powder
2.       Fill ¼ to 1/3 with Val du Vino Corinth (a syrah)
3.       Fill the remainder of the glass with a nice quality organic eggnog
 4.       Enjoy!

The easiest way to prepare the glasses is have a clean very damp cloth folded on a saucer and have a saucer with cocoa powder next to it, tap your glass on the wet and then in the cocoa. The amazing thing is I don’t like any red wine and I generally don’t drink eggnog as it’s too thick and bland for me – somehow putting them together makes this a marvelous. I’d been standing in Val du Vino insisting “no thanks” for me, nothing made with red wine – then took a sip of Kim’s and invited Jonathan to provide one for me as well. 🙂  I promptly bought their Corinth so I can share this beverage with everyone I’m seeing over the holidays. It’s yummy and so seasonal.

So, a toast to the season while we ponder new artistic craft adventures and look to the future.

Following is the easiest way to be alerted when I post new projects (crafts or sewing/machine embroidery) and recipes – just click to subscribe, follow in RSS Facebook, Twitter, or in Networked Blogs.

This post is participating in the following linky parties noted below.

7 comments on “Peace and Joy this Winter Solstice (Mean Geimhridh)!

  1. Melissa says:

    I am not one to drink. But the colors look amazing and I love your first picture. Thanks for sharing over at Tuesday Tell All.

    • Maggie says:

      That top pic is one of my favorites too. I’ve got a frame for it – just have to have it printed up to hang in a hallway here. I got very lucky :-), I’m not a great photographer.

  2. girlichef says:

    What a lovely way to welcome in the Solstice and celebrate Yule! Thank you so much for sharing some wonderful history, as well. Lovely post 🙂 Yule blessings to you, Maggie!

  3. this is gorgeous and seems very exotic. i almost feel like i need to be in a large castle by a roaring fire to really enjoy it 🙂 thank you for sharing with tuesday night supper club!

  4. What a gorgeous drink! Looks very festive!

  5. We are big eggnog drinkers over here, minus the alcohol, so maybe for New Years Eve I’ll try making this. It looks pretty, and I bet it tastes yummy!
    Happy REDnesday and Happy New Year!
    Carol

    • Maggie says:

      Hope you enjoyed it! I’m usually not a big eggnog drinker. Thinking of tossing the unopened caton into the ice cream maker – it’ll subdue the flavors and most likely be a great topping for any number of things. Love it with the Syrah, but wouldn’t want to imbibe too much wine finishing the eggnog stash!

Leave a Reply

