Celtic / St. Patrick’s Day Bling #2

In last week’s post  where I linked vintage images and an apron pattern, I mentioned that Murphy’s Irish days is such a big event that I always have company. We actually have a pretty respectable Celtic Faire in Sonora (their 25th is this weekend) with next weekend Murphys Irish Days. This week I’ll share some of the Celtic bling I like to sprinkle about my home. Although you can also choose to hand embroider, appliqué or fabric paint designs onto your coasters, napkins and towels I’ll be highlighting machine embroidery

If you have a hankering for small town parades, videos of our Irish Days photo stills on YouTube are so much fun to watch: Murphys Irish Days Parade video2 (seeing it you’ll be sure to send wishes our way for a sunny weekend!).

For bling, there’s a special place in my heart for Celtic knotwork design. When I first picked up my embroidery machine, I didn’t realize that I could buy embroidery designs other than from my manufacturer’s recommended site. It’s pricier than many of the other sites, but I remain thrilled with the designs and quality of the Celtic knotwork set I picked up at Myembroideries.com (the coaster uses one from this set).

 

For craft suppliers, I’ve mentioned Napkins Online from eBay for hemstitched coasters and napkins, Costco for packs of fluffy white towels, and Embroidery Library for a robust selection of very reasonably priced designs. Embroidery Library’s Jacobean Shamrock is one of my favorites for the season, you see it on a few of the towels. Their  Swirling Shamrocks Corner is the napkins and Shamrock the green towels. You can select Suppliers in Categories on the right of this page to see who I’ve learned to rely on for good quality and pricing. As mentioned before, I’m perfectly happy with Sulky 40 weight embroidery thread that I can pick up on sale at JoAnn. For detailed tutorials on hooping and stabilizer please refer to Embroidery Library’s tutorials.

This post is being resurrected for the Gallery of Favorites hosted by Alea and April.

5 comments on “Celtic / St. Patrick’s Day Bling #2

  1. What lovely embroidery! I notice you have some Irish Belleek as well. It’s such beautiful china. I have one of my late Mom’s Belleek teacups 🙂 Thank you for sharing the lovely things that help you to celebrate St Patrick’s Day!

  2. […] St. Patrick’s Day Bling – Including lovely machine embroidered linens from ceo a’s draiocht. […]

Leave a Reply

