Daffodil Dilemmas

 

Narcissus Bell Song

So, after deleting the blurred and the horrible, here I sit with 188 pictures of Ironstone’s gardens and their daffodils (it’s a good time to visit folks). What to do, what to do. Work and life has interfered with my ability to keep up with Sundays in my City as much as I’d like. From this hoard I could compose a few posts and be set for the near-term. I’d like to post a picture of one of each of the different daffodil types that I captured. Although my new(ish) home is not yet landscaped, my gardening obsession is fed by growing things in pots. Gardeners have differing passions; there are some whose excesses are triggered by the genus narcissus. 

Narcissus Modern Art

A friend in the Santa Cruz Mountains was one of these addicts. At the time, I didn’t appreciate her fixation or her insistence that nothing would grow for her throughout the summer. She’d scour the web and gardening catalogs for different varieties, backpack her toddler and go planting them across her hillsides. Now that I live in a similar environment with scorching dry summers and hungry foraging wildlife – I understand. Poisonous spring bulbs like narcissus are so rewarding in the face of all those summer disasters. I haven’t given up my attempts to grow something, anything, over the summer. But each spring in my mountain home finds me more determined to be crawling the hillsides populating my environment with the beautiful bulbs that actually adore the climate here.

Narcissus Flower Record

No worries, working on a satellite, the passages of time involved in uploading too many photos is not something I’ll undertake. Even so, my dilemmas around how to post pictures I want to share are difficult to resolve. What makes the most sense is what WordPress calls the static page – pages you see on the header bar other than home and these blog entries. I’d sprinkle this post with a few photos and link to a gallery on that page. Come fall I’d have a record on which to base my orders and something other gardeners can peruse. The issue I believe with static pages is that search engines don’t seem to find them. WordPress static pages don’t have categories or tags. Someone looking for a photo of narcissus Modern Art, may not be able to find mine. Yet I don’t want to do multiple posts on narcissus and, without effort to the contrary, this post will turn into a dissertation. Imperfect as it is, I’ll just do one post with all the individual photos. See previous post, Differing Daffodils, to view a sampling of what’s available.

Narcissus Dick Wilden

As far as suppliers, the big box stores offer reliable performers in varying tones. You should be able to find yellow, white and pink varieties easily. However, if you’re bitten by the addiction, you may want to check out Dutch Gardens, John Scheepers or Van Engelen Inc (the wholesale side of Scheepers, they tell me their website will be updated mid May with the fall catalog out in June). I’ve also heard good things about Brent and Becky’s bulbs, but I’ve not used them. Some websites take fall offerings down until the season for ordering; you have to wait for mark your calendar to check daffodils in late summer.

Professor Einstein seemed to be a favorite of the folks at Ironstone – it was everywhere you turn. It’s in the truck bed – so big, bright and clean – looks as though it can’t be real. Certainly striking. As we get a lot of rain through daffodil season, mid size height and smaller blooms enable the flowers to recover more easily from the battering. Thinking I may have to fill two pots for a protected front porch spot as Einstein is certainly a punch of cheer for those dreary days.

Ironstone Vineyard's Daffodils

Narcissus Kedron

The other thing you won’t be able to tell from the photographs is the substantial size (they are huge) of Holland Sensation and Mareika.  These may be perfect for a few places on the hillside as their size will make them more visible from a distance. However, the first order I’m placing is for Kedron as that orange on orange is a nice counterpoint to the yellows, whites and pinks I have. 

Just so you know daffodil is the common name for narcissus; some folks use the name jonquil for the same flower.

This post is participating in the Gallery of Favorites at Alea’s Leftovers.

Narcissus Pink Charm

8 comments on “Daffodil Dilemmas

  1. This looks like a daffodil paradise to me. They are one of my favorite colors and such a welcome change from winter. I’m smiling just looking at them. Thanks!
    Happy SIMC, jj

  2. Lovely lovely faces of spring. We don’t have any such faces around here yet – – – we content ourselves just knowing the snow IS melting.

    🙂

  3. Unknown Mami says:

    I feel like a whole new world has just opened up. I had no idea there were so many different kinds and they are so beautiful.

  4. cindy says:

    i love it when the daffodils start to bloom here, it means that spring is really coming! the shot of the old truck with daffodils is fabulous, i love it!

  5. LoriBee says:

    Ooh, I love your blog! Considering we’re both in California, we read the same books, we garden, craft and I’ve always wanted to learn to make bread, I think I need to subscribe. LOL Glad you found me on GardenWeb. You do a beautiful job with your posts. Love the information.

  6. Alea Milham says:

    Thanks for sharing this post with the Gallery! I have thousands of bulbs planted in my backyard. I buy the bulbs after the first freeze when the stores mark them down, knowing that we will have another warm spell. When that warm spell hits, I plant like a mad woman and I am well rewarded in the spring.

    • Maggie says:

      My sister in New England was just telling me about getting bulbs significantly off. In California, they don’t usually drop teh prices so much – just spent too much at Van Engelen with their 40% off end of season sale. I’m often also planting in that rush against the season.

  7. What gorgeous photographs! I adore flowers, and these are so beautiful. I really enjoyed reading your post as well – lots of information for keen gardeners like me! Thank you for sharing this post with the Gallery of Favorites.

Leave a Reply

