July = Another Warm Day in Murphys

We’ve dropped to the low nineties (yea and whew!) after our few weeks of tappin low hundreds. Might even see high eighties this week – oh joy. J

Been meaning to tell you about Mineral – our oh so marvelous vegetarian restaurant in town. They rely on local, primarily organic ingredients. Their photos are so much better than what I’ll post here as when I’m out with friends a quick snap with the phone is all I’m willing to do. I found their land scallops (tofu base) absolutely “to die for” and need to touch base with them to find out when they’ll have their multi cheese risotto (talk about filling) that a friend had one trip there.  I expect I won’t get that again until fall – but it’s worth the wait. Both the asparagus and hearts of palm appetizers pictured below are yummy. The menu does change weekly to utilize the best of available ingredients. It’s always a winner and really gives the chef an opportunity to show off his creativity.

 

Locals’ favorite hands down is their veggie burger: ‘Mineral Burger $13.00 Hand Made Burger with Hook Five Year Cheddar, House Papaya Ketchup, Champagne Cucumbers, and Pickled Jalapeno Aioli. Served on house made bun with sea salt chips and pickled vegetables’.

Folks from everywhere give it a 4.5 out of 5 rating over at Yelp. It’s a tiny restaurant, so reservations are recommended. The only caution is that their corkage fee is higher than most, if you like wine with dinner, order it from their menu.

For my Sunday, I’ll be inside with the a/c on. (oops – should’ve wiped down the laptop screen).

Do visit other folks at Unknown Mami’s global Sunday’s in My City. This post may also link to the other parties noted at the bottom of the page.

4 comments on “July = Another Warm Day in Murphys

  1. Tara R. says:

    That is a cool idea for a restaurant. The menu sounds delicious.

  2. Unknown Mami says:

    I’m so hungry and this post made me even hungrier.

  3. Okay – I need to get to the restaurant NOW, sounds absolutely delish. Interesting Frog sculpture, fun.

  4. LaVoice says:

    Sound like a great place to dine. I like that cute little frog setting.

Leave a Reply

