Crash ..Bang ..Boom, sigh

Requiem to my favorite hummingbird feeder, sigh. I absolutely positively loved my red crackle glass hummingbird feeder. But, a bang and a crash let me know its joyous days had ended. I can only guess that a bigger bird must’ve hit it as I’m not quite sure what knocked it off its hook. Searching Amazon and eBay and finding replacements, but not that gorgeous clear red. Those few times that I could get a perfect shot it would make the image truly pop.

So, for Sundays in My City with Unknown Mami – today’s topic is hummingbirds and feeders; Anna’s hummingbirds in Murphys, California to be precise.

This is the “does this feeder make my butt look big?” Shot. It does capture their iridescence which only shows when the light hits them just so. They’re supposed to position themselves purposefully when doing their mating dance to be sure the light will hit them correctly. Too bad they can’t talk and give me pointers on how to get the light to hit me correctly ….

The new feeder, I’d picked up two yellow on Amazon (these go from $14 to $65 on ebay and Amazon – yes, the exact same Bird Brain crackle glass feeder, different sellers, obviously shop around). Although I manage to break about one/year, I’m a fan of the glass as gets sparkly clean with the bleach sterilizing, plastic not so much. Also, the ones that point down might be gorgeous, but they will always drip sugar water (ant heaven unless you want to put a ring of bug poison directly beneath the dripping feeder). And, yes I did just wash this feeder the eve before – scan down to see why it isn’t squeaky clean.

Usually one bird will start to own a feeder. When that bird has babies, the whole family feeds. As they mature, they’ll fight and eventually one bird will own the feeder again.  So this feeder is squeaky clean because this larger male has been owned his feeder all week.

The “center post” yellow that’s been up a year.

You can see the new feeder is popular (and impossible to keep clean!).

I don’t think Bird Brain is continuing to make the crackle glass feeders and I’m not a fan of the newer styles, so did pick up a few lavender ebay (the two yellow were to supplement those in front, now I know I need to keep inventory).

Debating as some sellers say they have red crackle glass (we do get attached to our “stuff”, don’t we?) but their photos look much denser – like Coke bottle glass.  For folks with an interest in feeders, I love the style of the ones I put in front of my house, but they hold less than 8 ounces so are empty pretty quickly on our hot days. Lesson – professional photographers would put the feeder in front of a bed of flowers – with mine you can see the lines to the house (ick) in the background. But, it’s through the glass window so I could get this post up, will get a better angle next time J

Hummer food = ¼ cup sugar to 1 cup water. Just nuke or boil the water first and the sugar dissolves perfectly. I know some folks don’t bother to heat the water, but it works best for me.

This post is participating in additional parties linked below.

10 comments on “Crash ..Bang ..Boom, sigh

  1. sheila says:

    WOW! You weren’t kidding! I love the pic with all them on it at one time, now that is cool! We have about 4-5 that are here but they don’t play nice with each other. Only once did I catch 3 in the same frame, and they weren’t being friendly to each other, lol. NICE pics and GORGEOUS feeders! Very nice!

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks Sheila – Sometimes they Really don’t play nice (I’ll hear them hit each other, have one very blurry shot of two hitting each other – they’re moving pretty fast when they do).

  2. lisleman says:

    I just learned more about hummingbird feeders than I ever knew before.
    But really the best part – “…give me pointers on how to get the light to hit me correctly…”
    Funny – I hope you are able to keep your feathers in their place.

  3. Those glass feeders are beautiful, but do they refill and clean up easily? I can’t see a way to get INTO them.

    We too feed hummers ’round here – – – but I guess we’re the McDonald’s ’cause we sport plastic cheap feeders.

    • Maggie says:

      Hi Keetha – the glass flowers come out and you pour the sugar water in through that round opening (or bleach, soap and water to clean them). I nuke my sugar water in a 2 or 4 cup pyrex measuring cup – I find the spout on the measuring cup makes it easy to pour into the feeder. Had picked up a funnel as thought I’d need it but I don’t.

      I had the plastic at my previous home – they do work well. But, given the hot summers here – there are 2 things – back of the house is solid sun & noticed on the glass feeder with plastic flowers that the plastic fell apart. I have to clean these more than once a week (note that some sites recommend daily in the summer) and the plastic also didn’t hold up to the bleach/cleaning that well. I had the “Lantern Style” http://www.backyardbird.com/Schrodt-Cobalt-Facted-Glass-Copper-Hummingbird-Feeder_p_334.html (not this exact brand, but same gorgeous cobalt blue) and the glue holding the glass lantern to the base gave way. So far I’ve tried GE SIlicone II and that didn’t work to hold it together. The all glass have no issues with solid sun and heat.

      In truth this is only the second that I’ve broken – so perhaps I’m breaking one every 2 to 3 years.

  4. Tara R. says:

    You got some wonderful shots of the hummers. They are such fascinating birds. Your feeders are really beautiful too.

  5. So sorry to hear of the loss of your favorite feeder, but lucky you to be able to have those amazing little creatures so close! Great to have your post being a part of Seasonal Sundays.

    – The Tablescaper

  6. I know I get very attached to my things and when they break I want an exact replacement! Guess I’m not the only one. I can’t believe how many hummers you have. I rarely got any to my feeder – just ants.

  7. KB says:

    Love the pics. Thanks for sharing with Weekend Walkabout.

  8. Unknown Mami says:

    I learned quite a bit in this post. I’m sorry you lost the red one, but I think the others are quite lovely too.

Leave a Reply

