Getting my Groove Back

Finally getting back my crafting groove. The Celtic raven embroidery broke the log jam – I absolutely love how that piece came out. Had not turned on the embroidery machine for more than a year! Having to refresh my memory on a few key points. This morning’s endeavors, although lovely, reminded me of settings that I don’t want to forget. So, for Embroidery Library “it’s not you, it’s me” in this design.

Their sale ends Tuesday night – what I call their uber Christian designs. A bit preachy for my taste, but with a sale price of $1.49, editing out parts and keeping other bits of the design is time well spent. Grab a locket to add to steampunk style stitching (skip stitching the Bible verse) or beautiful flower panels that also easily stitch out sans verse. The two angels are part of their echo series. I decided to simply stitch out ‘color one’ for the toile like angel and delete the rest of the design. Considered a more traditional toile color as I have thread that exactly matches a toile spread in the guest room. But, decided these would be great for the winter holiday and red would make them pop. Did make a mess of things when the bobbin thread ran out (oh yeah, always check the bobbin thread before you begin). I usually back up a few stitches when restarting after replacing bobbin. Oops, hit prior spool not prior stitch. Unfortunately, my machine can only go forward or back one stitch at a time. It doesn’t remember where its last stitch was. That one mistake meant I had to sit and backtrack the design over 2,000 stitches – hitting the little button and letting it register over 2,000 times. When the design stitched out, it was missing the lower right corner. I was off in my stitch back up (arrggh). Thinking I can still use this piece as the center for something like a crazy quilt square where I’ll angle fabric over that lower right corner to cover my boo boo, or play with trying to stitch something into the space.

These were stitched out on a remnant of linen from another project. Starch like crazy. I chose tear away stabilizer as the design is light. Fix (the baste feature for my machine) tacked the linen to stabilizer – a step not to be ignored as my leftover piece of linen didn’t fill the hoop.

Overall, I’m pleased with them. I may put a charm of a Christmas wreath in the one angel’s hand or embroider something. They’ll either be pillows or center panels for patchwork Christmas stockings. That decision is to come.

I’ve begun stitching out some fun Urban Threads designs, so stay tuned.

This post is participating in the parties linked below.

5 comments on “Getting my Groove Back

  1. Those are really so peaceful! And I really do like the red on ivory! And thank you for stopping by my blog earlier with your kind words!

  2. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    The angel looks like its/her arms are open wide to all of those who need a good hug or two!

    SEEING RED

    A man who was out of his head
    Was claiming he always saw red.
    He saw it all day,
    At work and at play,
    And saw it at night while in bed.

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    Teleférico rojo

  3. Unknown Mami says:

    Beautiful. I think I would lose my mind if I tried to do something like this.

    • Maggie says:

      When all goes well, it’s pretty gratifying. But, when there is a mess up – ohh, lose mind and growl pacing about. Others – stay away! I do think I should blog a tad more about some of the issues as it’s not as easy as the folks in the stores would have you believe.

  4. What beautiful work! I am envious of your embroidery machine. 🙂 Thanks for the visit today!

Leave a Reply

