Primitive Macabre from Urban Threads

Urban Threads has some of my favorite designs – they call them quirky and offbeat, designs you’re not going to find on the mainstream sites. Designs are offered as a digital stock art (for paper crafters, mod podgers and more), hand embroidery designs or for machine embroidery. Their blog shares attention-grabbing examples of tattoos many followers have had inked from their art (in addition to projects and contests). I’d shared one of my all-time faves, their Queen of Hearts design, here.

Now, I am breaking a promise to myself to post some craft or topic other than machine embroidery; folks new to the blog may not realize that there are other items I blog about (just check out categories folks). After an extended break from machine embroidery I’m back and gung ho stitching up a few things the week.  

These images are from their primitive macabre line. My current plan is table runner. They’re stitched on the linen remnant I have from a different project. When setting out to embroider, you can always change the thread colors on your designs. I dragged out my Halloween runners and apron and chose thread colors to match.

Of course, the moment I step away my project overseer comes in to check out how things are going. Amazingly, the male cat never comes near my projects.

I really wish their color changes had let us choose to have ‘Pumpkin Man’s’ outer jacket, hat, face and pants in different colors (they’re all set to one). When I have the time, I might try and fuss with my software and see if I could put the color stops in the right place (you have to think in terms of one stitch at a time, a few stitches off and blech). As these are dense designs, I use a cutaway stabilizer. Mentioned before, starch the linen like crazy before hooping.

I do love these designs. From the ‘I should have thought this out better’ category I jumped right on taking the machine basting rectangle out of these for the photos. But now I want to put decorative stitching in a rectangle around them and I could have used the basted stitch as a perfect inner guide. Plan is to fringe up to the decorative stitching rectangle and then tack them to either a black or dark purple runner with a few other designs added in. Ah well, I’ll just have to get out the disappearing ink pen.

Our exceptional local fabric store, Country Cloth, has a few designated workshop spaces where you can simply bring in projects to work in a community environment. As the first embroidery machine I got was so temperamental and I’m so relieved to have one that works well now, I won’t travel with my machine. I’ll drag my cutting, stuffing, hand stitching or sewing with my old clunker to the classroom space. So, stocking up on a bunch of embroideries to attach to projects later isn’t a bad thing. If I can take nab few hours off work, I’ll grab my project bag and head down to Angels Camp.

For step-by-step instructions, visit Embroidery Library’s Tutorial on Linen.

This post is participating in Skip to MyLou Monday , Tutorial Tuesday at Hope Studios and Tuesday at Coastal Charm, Wednesday at Blue Cricket Design, Wednesday at SewMuch Ado, Tuesday at Tip Junkie, Wednesday at Someday Crafts,  Catch a Glimpse Thursdays, TransformationThursday, Today’s Creative Blog, SomewhatSimple Show and Tell Saturdays, Saturday at Funky Junk Interiors and Sew Cute Tuesday at the Creative Itch.

13 comments on “Primitive Macabre from Urban Threads

  1. I did some research on west coast monarchs….thanks for visiting my blog and you are welcome to join Nature Notes…Michelle

    Monarch Butterflies in Western North America

    Monarchs that spend the summer breeding season in western North America (including states west of the Rocky Mountains: Washington, Oregon, California, Idaho, and Montana) are thought to migrate to the southern coast of California. Here, they roost in eucalyptus trees (as shown in this image), Monterey pines, and Monterey cypresses that are located in bays sheltered from wind or farther inland where they are protected from storms. There are at least 25 predictable overwintering aggregations in California in addition to many temporary clusters. Scientists estimate that the California monarchs make up about 5% of the overall worldwide monarch population.

    It has been proposed that this western North American population is not truly migratory but rather undergoes an annual range expansion and contraction. That is, these monarchs may be year-round residents of California whose offspring are able to spread to surrounding states during the mild summer weather but are forced to return to California or perish when the inhospitable northern winters return. This issue is still being debated and offers great potential (and substantial challenges!) for study by west coast residents.

    In Fall, monarchs east of the Rockies funnel through Texas to Mexico, while monarchs west of the Rockies migrate to coastal California. In Spring (bottom), monarchs recolonize the eastern U.S. and Canada in successive generations. Less is known about how they recolonize the western states.

  2. These designs are so cute! I love them! This post makes me want to learn how to cross-stich. It would be a cute gift to embroider these little creatures on towels as Halloween presents!

    And I love that you have a black cat. 😉

  3. jennifer says:

    I love those designs!

  4. Too cute! You’re very talented :), Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  5. Audrey says:

    The only craft I do these days is crocheting. At one time I would latch hook while watching t.v. or even needlepoint, today it’s just crocheting. Cute designs.

  6. These are awesome!! I wish I could do that!!

  7. Denise says:

    I love every one of these designs.

  8. KB says:

    I love the pumpkin one.

  9. Unknown Mami says:

    I love the orange color and all the great designs.

  10. Hi there,

    Wow urban threads are really mind-blowing, I loved the ideas

    Thanks,
    Adam

Leave a Reply

