More Handcrafted Christmas – Felt Ornaments

If you can’t sprinkle in some cute at Christmas, when can you? The gingerbread folks are from Urban Threads and the Bear and Elf candy cane holders are from Embroidery Library.

As usual, I don’t exactly follow their instructions for making one at a time but search out a few shortcuts to do a sheet at once. You need to be careful with how you paste and color sort in 4D Embroidery – you can end up stitching out one at a time (arggh – thread changes). I “faked out” the program by inputting odd colors (like magenta) for the back stitch down while knowing “magenta” meant load up brown thread again. This way I could color sort so that all 6 candy cane holder tops stitched and stopped allowing me to take it off the machine and add the back felt, then have all six bottoms stitched on. With the gingerbread men, I’d stitched just the tops, cut them out, glued to felt backs with ribbon at head to hang and cut out again. Still faster than doing one at a time.

I always use Sulky embroidery threads  (40 weight) – I can get them on sale and haven’t had any problems. If you stitch them one at a time per instructions – the edge overlap stitching would be at the edge. Stitching in groups like this, I have the bit of felt on the outside edge.

 You can see the white cut away stabilizer in the sandwich of felt middle as I’d started using my white cutaway (need to get black cut away). I used a brown marker to go over the bits of white that poked through.

The bears went off without a hitch. You do need to be sure to get “skinny” candy canes as I had one box that was just a tad too big to fit through the buttonholes.

Back to creating gifts and baking ……  This post is participating in the following linky parties: Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage,

Leave a Reply

