Sundays in My City – January

Sharing just a few snapshots today, so that I can hustle out to the garden. Unlike earlier in the week aka Mists of Avalon (read dense fog), we’re having beautiful sunny weather today.

The winter migration brings birds that I don’t see as often. Here’s a spotted towhee (you can post a picture to http://www.gardenweb.com’s birding forum and they’ll ID it for you).

This black chinned hummingbird has been driving away my population of Anna’s while he hogs the feeder.

The oh so cute fluffy mountain bluebird has been elusive for me. I have sharp, crisp pictures from the back, edges of the tail on a corner of the frame or slightly fuzzy, but otherwise gorgeous shots. Wish me luck.

Love gorgeous cloudy sunsets.

Changing topic on you – a favorite thing over on Pinterest.com is cleaning hints. I love tea, but often let it sit in the pot or the cup to the point where they’re badly stained. Normally, a scrub with baking soda will lift the stain. But, I’d let them get to a point where this didn’t work. A friend of mine uses Barkeeper’s Friend to remove water stains from her stainless flatware. I also noticed someone on Pinterest used it to remove the hazing lines that appear on some China as it ages. So, I gave it a go.

 

 

Success. (I use the stronger powdered version).

This post is participating in Sundays in My City @Unknownmami.com; c’mon by and see what folks around the globe are up to on their weekend.

4 comments on “Sundays in My City – January

  1. unknownmami says:

    Good to know, I have some Barkeeper’s Friend. Nice to see you. I stopped by earlier this week to check up on you.

    • Maggie says:

      Yes, so much for January fresh starts and more blogging! Been well, but insanely busy. Have more favored recipe posts to create and load up, local restaurant visit mentions, a few photos and more. Hoping to make some progress soon.

  2. Angelia Sims says:

    I had no idea hummingbirds were so stingy with the food. Ha! Great photos. I adore the sunset one. I hope you enjoyed the beautiful day to the fullest. 🙂

    • Maggie says:

      Oh, hummingbirds can get quite nasty with one another (but they are cute) . Was a truly gorgeous day here, although it’s time to get concerned about water – we worry about it in California with good reason.

Leave a Reply

