Jubilant Success

A surprise Flanders Poppy coming up in one of the veggie beds – was a windy day and a tad difficult to keep in focus.

   

There are a few things I’ve not had success with here in my little mountain home.  For one, I’d like decent photos of the various birds that come by. But, most are pretty skittish and take off at the whisper of sound or hint of movement. Today, I get to check another off my list.

I hadn’t really anchored the row cover on my veggies as well as I should (1 inch binder clips work, but they’re not to be had locally and I haven’t taken the 40 minute shopping drive just for them). So, I check it in the mornings and realign the bricks holding it down. I’m told my deer fence you see in progress will be finished Monday (fingers crossed).

Spotted a California Quail behind the compost bins, held my breath and ran for the camera. They shuttled off into the shrubs, unseen through the lense, while I went immobile and, quietly, shallowly breathed until they ventured out. Even raising the camera was an exercise in slow motion.

Mr. Quail stays out in the open, watching, while Mrs. Quail hides and dines in more protected areas.

My brain was screaming the command – “Get away from the hose!”  (it’s kinda ugly in a shot, you have to admit) but he simply ignored me.

 Aren’t they a cute couple? (I’d better put up some “No Hunting / No Trapping” signs).

This post is participating in Sundays in My City over at Unknown Mami.

9 comments on “Jubilant Success

  1. Keetha says:

    Poppies have been catching my eye this spring too. Maybe I should plant some of THOSE near my driveway!

    What a fun quail sighting. I’ve never been part of one of those.

    Nor an owl sighting either.

    Plenty of other special birds – – – hummers, orioles, cedar wax wings, red headed woodpeckers, piliated wood pecker – – – just to name a few. But never a California Quail.

    • Maggie says:

      Keetha – I’d saved “previously used in pots” soil to add to the veggie beds (plenty of compost and manure, so some old soil is fine) and it must have had poppy seed that was a few years old in there. Poppies are great – they truly are happiest if you go out and sprinkle the seed on top of the snow where you want them (December is good). I have some 5 year old poppy seed in the garage I’ll have to try this winter.

      The Flanders poppy is famous (Wiki notes): “In Flanders Fields” because of a poem written during the First World War by Canadian Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae. He wrote it after presiding over the funeral of friend and fellow soldier. Its references to the red poppies that grew over the graves of fallen soldiers resulted in the “remembrance poppy” becoming one of the world’s most recognized memorial symbols for soldiers who have died in conflict. My dad was in WW2 and this reminds me of him. This one is beautiful and so easy to grow.

  2. Love your pics! Those flowers that come up unexpectedly are like a gift, aren’t they? Love the quail shots, too!!

  3. Maggie says:

    Thanks Betsy – I had fun with them!

  4. BLOGitse says:

    Quail like that I’ve never seen before! Beautiful, especially the crown on top of the head 🙂

    • Maggie says:

      Yes, on the Mountain Quail the plume goes the opposite way – towards the back of the head and the tail. The distinctive plume makes it easy to recognize a California quail.

  5. Poppies! I love shots of flowers from above. 🙂

  6. Trisha says:

    Hi,

    I’m hosting a giveaway over at my blog and would love for you to stop by and participate.

    http://www.myhobbielobbie.com/2012/05/my-200th-blog-post-and-my-1st-ever.html

    Looking forward to seeing you there.

  7. unknownmami says:

    Oh those quails are such good lookin’ visitors.

Leave a Reply

