Abundance of Anna’s

The last time I mentioned Anna’s hummingbirds, I was lamenting the end of March snowstorm and their disappearance.

Well, there is a profusion of them swarming the feeders and exuberantly gobbling up sugar at the rate of five pounds plus  per week.

Thought you might enjoy seeing their return.

 

The mobs of luminous little birds speeding from feeder to feeder, flaring their tails and clicking to one another are mesmerizing.

Californians (or folks looking to travel) book your calendar – Murphys’ Dia de los Muertos is on for Nov 3 & 4 this year. See last year’s photos if you’re curious.

This post is participating in UnknownMami’s Sundays in My City.

15 comments on “Abundance of Anna’s

  1. BLOGitse says:

    These are so beautiful! Very busy birds to keep in the air… 🙂

  2. sheilaburke says:

    Beautiful feeders! And my favorite bird of all I do believe. 🙂

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks – I love these feeders, if you don’t drop them – the glass really holds up well. Watching a dozen of these little ones buzz each feeder since we hit 106 today.

  3. Stephanie says:

    I have enjoyed this indeed! You captured their frenzied flight in every light…just beautifully!

  4. Perhaps I am part hummingbird because I can consume quite a bit of sugar. They are always a treat to see.

    • Maggie says:

      You and me both! Maybe that’s why I’m so enamored of them – if I could just adapt to their high metabolism adn burn off that sugar, now that would be a good thing …..

  5. Hi, Maggie! First, I wanted to comment on your wonderful little hummers! Since we have moved into this newer neighborhood, we don’t have nearly as many as in our old (lots of trees and vegetation) one…not too many years ago our yard was part of a cotton field, so I guess it’s doing pretty well, considering…:)
    Thank you so much for your sweet comments about my Fairy House! I have to confess; though I had planned to leave it out all summer, my husband and son talked me into just taking it outside if I wanted to photograph it…I actually did leave it out for about a week, and in just that short period of time (this was spring, not even that hot yet), the sun started deteriorating the varnish I used on the pinecone “shingles”. We probably have about the same climate; we’ve had over 100 degree days almost every day for the past 2 weeks ~ a little cooler the past few days, though, thankfully. Several days in a row we broke records at 106-108! So, I doubt very seriously that it would last here if I had left it out. I’m like you on the gourd birdhouses, too, though I haven’t painted one for outdoors for years. Sadly, pretty paint-jobs just don’t last outside! (What I would love to do is little stoneware houses and DRAGONS! Maybe someday. I have too many irons in the fire right now…LOL I took a 6-week hiatus from my blog to get ready for a 3-woman art show (that I should have been preparing for, for the past 2 years…but no, not me…”Last Minute Annie”, that’s me!), and last night was the opening reception…if you have time, check out my blog again late tonight…I plan to finally update it with show pics ~ I have really missed blogging!
    So nice to “meet” you!
    Hugs,
    Anne

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks Anne, I appreciate you taking the time to let me know how your gorgeous gourd fairy house (others reading these comments must pop over and see it) holds up outside! I’ll visit again later to see your more recent post from your art show (congrats!). I also keep meaning to make the time to mortar together a small stone fairy cottage to nestle outside (will get it it one of these days).

  6. Maya says:

    Haven’t seen so many hummingbirds in one place – they are pretty amazing!
    I would also lie to thank you for the fabulous comment you left for me and the time you took to visit!
    Maya

  7. Cindy says:

    Your patience is amazing. These are gorgeous photos and obviously taken throughout the day. Such gorgeous creatures, beautiful shots and wonderful captures. Putting Dia de Los Muertos on my calendar now.

    • Maggie says:

      Cindy – if you do make it up, I think you’ll love Dia de Los Muertos – I hope we get Frank and his art back again this year as that was fantastic! We’ll have to say hi in person if you make it.

Leave a Reply

