THANK YOU CALFIRE!

THANK YOU CALFIRE!

Murphys Penn Fire was much too close for comfort. Returning from Sonora Wednesday, I wasn’t certain I’d be allowed back to my home (residents only were) – or that it was even a good idea to go there. Immediately started packing the car (kitty items first), found out which local motels take pets (had an appointment Thursday here I didn’t want to miss, so although many friends offered, I wanted to stay close) and touched base with the neighbors. Then there was nothing else to do but wait – so I grabbed the camera. A bit shaky, not my best shots or editing.

View over my pump house.

Thursday’s reports had the fire at 200 acres although it’s been reassessed to 134 acres burned. As I write this, it is 90% contained, with full containment expected later today. The report shows Total Fire Personnel of 330, with 317 CAL FIRE. Thank you also to the supporting agencies:  California Highway Patrol, US Forest Service, National Park Service, Murphys Fire Department, Calaveras County Sheriff’s Department, Altaville Melones Fire, Ebbetts Pass Fire, California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, Pacific Gas and Electric and Northern California Power Agency.

Our heroes (taken from my front or back porch, thus one side clear, one smokey). So many more than the air crew were involved – Thank you again to all of our heroes.

 

This post is participating in UnknownMami’s Sundays in My City; the Gallery of Favorites, hosted by April at The21st Century Housewife and Alea of Premeditated Leftovers .

19 comments on “THANK YOU CALFIRE!

  1. So glad you’re safe! As you may know we had fires on every front here in Colorado. My sister in law had a rental house that burned down in Colorado Springs. It almost got her primary home as well.

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks Betsy – I’ve always kept the cat carriers handy, never buried in the garage, because of where I live. It is like closing the barn door after the cows had gone out – but CalFire has some great resources (so many in California are focused only on earthquake kits), including things I didn’t know for Pre-Evacuation Preparation (did shut the windows, knew that but would have left the inside house lights off – you should leave them on or to leave a ladder for firemen at the corner to your house http://www.readyforwildfire.org/pre-evacuation_preparation).

      Yes, where we have growth in the arid west areas, we have fires. My heart goes out to your sister in law’s renter.

  2. Terrifying. I happy to hear it is contained. Sad to know it was so large.

  3. Chris says:

    I’m glad you’re safe!

  4. Amazing photos but scary to know that they are so close to your home. I am glad you (and your kitties) are safe, a great job by all agencies involved. Stay safe.

  5. Keetha says:

    We are soooooo dry here, but have not had to deal with fire and oh how I hope we don’t have to deal with that.

    That bucket hanging from the helicopter probably holds a lot of water, but it looks like a drop in the bucket perspective wise!

    • Maggie says:

      Keetha – Those buckets remind me of bucket brigades, I’m so glad they have the chemical retardants as well (I’m in a gully, my neighbor’s up more had shots showing the retardant dispersal). They drop the bucket, fly over, are gone for awhile (went to small lake across the freeway) fly back, drop bucket. It must make a difference – but having seen the time between buckets firsthand, I’m so glad there are additional tools for them,

  6. Wayne says:

    That is scary stuff there….

  7. Tara R. says:

    The fire looks way too close for comfort. So glad it’s being contained, and hope you and yours stay safe and sound.

  8. Vidya Sury says:

    Fire is scary Maggie! Good to know you’re safe. I’ve missed you the last few Sundays. But I’ve been thinking of you. 😀 and visiting randomly.

    Hugs! Take care!

  9. 4joy says:

    Every year it seems that wildfires are more prevalent and destructive…what a drag to have to fear summer’s fires….so glad you made it thru unscathed….Nice photos

  10. Nita says:

    So glad you are safe. I remember how terrifying it is to look out the window and see the flames and the smoke. Thank goodness for all those that battle the wild fires. Stay safe.

  11. BLOGitse says:

    Oh, that’s terrible! Good you’re safe!
    We had a bad flooding in Northern Finland. Even if it rains a lot that kind of flooding is not ‘normal’.

  12. Traci says:

    We get fires her in my area as well and they are scary. Every dry season, people hold their breath. I am definitely grateful we have people who risk their lives to help.

  13. Maggie says:

    Thanks everyone!

  14. I have had my house saved twice by firefighters. Once as a teenager. Most of the property, fencing, and outbuildings were lost but they saved our house. And again as a young mom, when I watched firefighters create a wall between our house and a raging fire. They truly are amazing!

    • Maggie says:

      Alea – egads, I think I’d have evacuated rather than stick around and watch. They are amazing, as someone else said, we’re so lucky to have people in our communities willing to tackle this.

  15. 21stcenturyhousewife says:

    Oh my heavens how scary! Thank goodness for the wonderful emergency services. You have some incredible photos in this post. Once when we visited California, we were driving out of a forest area just ahead of a fire. It was really frightening, and it wasn’t on nearly the scale of this one.

Leave a Reply

