Fairy Pin

I’ve been absent from blogging due to hours spent helping our little library. Will try to get a few quick posts up, here’s an easy bit of craft for those of you enamored of handmade Christmas gifting.

Mod Podge, glass cabochons and glass squares, images (Graphics 45 – Thanks to my best bud Chris –  and Canon Origami, some folks shrink their own photos or artwork), paint, glue-on bail or other Jewelry findings (pin backs for a clean looking pin or the style I show here, jump rings, earring backs, or use on a chain with just the glue-on bail).

Select images and trim to size of glass. You might find punch cutters close to your cabochon choice if you’re so inclined.

Put a THIN layer of Mod Podge on the back of the glass piece (too thick a layer will dry a tad cloudy) and apply your image. Allow to dry.

I usually smear a thin layer of Mod Podge over the back, let that dry then paint the back of the piece with acrylic paint to act as a waterproofing layer. Let dry. Glue the glue on bail to the back (I used E6000, sometimes I use GOOP).

Attach to your pin with matching jump rings. Add beads or other embellishments as you like. Wrap and gift. This was for my sister who loves fairies.

U.S. readers I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday. I need to log out and get back to cleaning and baking as I’m this year’s hostess 🙂 .

4 comments on “Fairy Pin

  1. Chris says:

    It’s beautiful Maggie! Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! 🙂

  2. Keetha says:

    Very enchanting pin!

  3. BLOGitse says:

    Oh wow..beautiful!
    .I’ve given up all the x-mas hassling…nothing, nada, zero.
    Those were the days when I did cards, gifts, dinner – everything. Now I’m going to enjoy xmas with my hubby here in Málaga, a xmas for two adults who already have everything – no shopping, just enjoying life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

