Finches have Found the New Feeders

Goldfinch
I made a few bottle feeders after seeing them over at Rebecca’s Bird Gardens. Amazon sells the small plastic Gadjit base and Lowes (and other hardware stores) sells the #6 copper wire I used. Rebecca’s uses #8 – but it’s even thicker and I would never have been able to bend it, luckily I’m a fan of the #6 look.

Feeder-1

People also use the feeder bases with plastic soda bottles (great kid’s project). If you go that route, the added benefit is you just toss the bottle when it gets dirty and put the feeder base on a new one. It comes with a hook you can attach to plastic bottles. They fit almost all glass screw top bottles as well – just not wine bottles as those are a wee tad bigger. I bought a few Perrier in glass just for the bottle ☺. Black sunflower seed or niger attracts the smaller birds. I’d planned to hang some charms/beads on the front to brighten them up and so that the birds would find it easily. Now that they’re found the green, I don‘t have to worry – they’ll recognize it moving forward. Was a tad concerned when I first hung it up as they took awhile to discover it. Now, they play musical chairs with various birds rousting others to get a spot on the base. Thinking that glass paint might be fun to play with on the next one. For both the charms and paint I’m holding off a bit to see how dirty they get. Birds tend to poop all over whatever they’re hanging out near, so if the feeders get covered, I’ll leave them plain glass for simplest cleaning.

Lesser Goldfinch b-1

Rebecca has found blue and red glass bottles that I’m lusting after. I’ve searched my local stores and not found anything in those color bottles. If anyone knows what you can you buy in them – please let me know in comments.

American Goldfinch-1

I’m still no bird expert – but I think I have both the Lesser Goldfinch and American Goldfinch hanging out here. The Lesser has the headcap all black (with that black eye with no white around it) and the American more of a black mask.

Lesser Goldfinch-1

This post is participating in Unknown Mami’s Sundays in My City.

3 comments on “Finches have Found the New Feeders

  1. Claudya says:

    It’s beautiful! You did such a great job. They used to sell water in blue glass bottles, but I haven’t seen them in a long time.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Just ran across this! Beautiful job!

  3. […] tightly around then lid, then heavier copper wire from Lowes (#6, the same that I used for the bird feeders) makes a lovely hanging loop. Pliers will help you get that loop tight and clean […]

Leave a Reply

