Halloween Mug Rugs

EL Haunting Ghosts mug rug
Been in a “do a Christmas project – do a different project – do a Christmas project” mode (really, you don’t want to be sick of looking at Christmas images before December 1st!).
EL Shake Bones mug rug
This ‘in-between’ project is some quick stitching mug rugs. I love mug rugs for the little splash of season or holiday they can bring – yet they don’t take space or have the weight or require the effort to put up that other decorations might. Simple and cheerful, a fun little gift for a friend or for me 🙂 .
EL Halloween mug rugs
I tend to go for sets, two, four or six – you get the picture. The center designs are from Embroidery Library, their Shake your Bones and Haunting Ghosts vintage designs.
EL Shake cup
The in the hoop (ITH) mug rug pattern is the Easter Mug Rugs from Stickbaer, edited. I often create my own, moving the border size to better highlight the design, but I had Stickbaer’s as I loved her appliqués for the hen and bunnies and dropping her outline in meant less time fussing with the digitizing program. I don’t sell or that would be a no no, both her and Embroidery Library’s terms of use let you edit designs – some companies specify that you may not – even for your own ‘not for sale’ project, I try to avoid those companies.

Chris's mug rug

After doing a fairy mug rug for a friend, (Embroidery Library’s sprite for the fairy and their bramble quilting used on the side piece, Five Star Fonts edited wave quilting under the fairy) I realized I should never attempt designs where hand stitched closures may show. (Showing the digitized version as I didn’t nab a shot before heading out to the post office). My hand stitching is not something to rave about. Some folks do the envelope or overlapping back style. It takes twice as much fabric for a back, but is neat all around. I decided the easiest was to make the back an inch longer, cut it down the center and stitch it together with an opening that is now in the middle of the bottom piece – so my ugly hand stitching won’t show and I can choose to use iron on seam tape to close it up. Takes just a moment for the extra step but what a difference in my final mug rug. With this black back, not such a big deal – but with my friend’s mug rug I used some beautiful quilting fabric for the back and I get a little stingy if I’m using the expensive stuff – hate to use twice as much if I don’t have to.

Mug rug back

More projects – plus a trip in for machine service – on the schedule. Time to log off and get cracking again 🙂

Leave a Reply

