Ricotta Pie

pie slice ricotta

I did cook up a few new items over the holidays that I’m head over heals in LOVE with. First up is an Italian Ricotta Pie. It’s so easy! Can’t believe I haven’t baked one before.

Ricotta Pie 1-1

So, for Unknown’s Mami’s Sundays in my City, know that Sunday is often baking day for me and this is what’s on the agenda for a repeat performance this morning. I love to know that no matter how busy or harried the work week, there’s a little treat of some sweet, or a ready to go lasagna or casserole waiting to greet me at the end of an exhausting day.

Obviously, I’m not one of those who worry about cracks in cheese pies 🙂 It comes out of the oven poufy and settles a bit. I know it’s a traditional Easter pie for many Italians, but was in the mood to try it now. This is a delectable, yummy dessert with significantly less sugar than other dessert choices (it’s great for breakfast too!).

RECIPE: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/blog/2013/03/15/ricotta-pie-buona-pasqua/

Ricotta pie a-1

If you click over to the recipe  – at the bottom of the blog post, you’ll see some reviewers thought it bland. She’d mentioned grated orange peel was traditional but she leaves it out. I went and added in the finely grated peel from about 2/3 – 3/4 of a large orange using a micro-planer (makes tiny bits for mellow flavor dispersion). Also because of the few negative comments, I used the 2 tsp vanilla where she says one or two. And, as I’d seen other recipes with a regular pie crust, I did that (no graham crackers on hand so I improvised).

Saw a few in web searching recipe choices made with no crust at all – it would be a ‘one bowl, mix it up’ pie without the crust. My sister tells me that’s how the Italian bakery she buys hers from makes them. Just crack your eggs into the bowl first so you can be sure there’s no shells and you have a super fast dessert with hardly any clean up required. So yummy!!! No topping is needed if you put the orange peel in the pie. I mixed mine in the bowl of the Cuisinart to give it a smoother texture. If you care about cracks – I probably have more as had taken it out of the oven and measured temp; but had to place it back in (I’m in the mountains – higher altitude baking always takes longer, but you’re never quite sure how much longer). Know that ricotta pie is not the same as cheesecake, the texture is quite different. This recipe is a keeper. I love it.

Stop by and see what others are up to this Sunday  Unknown’s Mami’s Sundays in my City.

9 comments on “Ricotta Pie

  1. jeanniemaries says:

    It’s the first time I’ve seen this, I think the cracks add to the beauty and texture. Nicely done and I may give it a try for Easter although not a drop of Italian blood runs in my veins.

  2. Dorothy says:

    Who cares if there are cracks as long as it tastes good!

  3. looks like a tasty addition to your Sunday menu. my cheesecakes never look this pretty. enjoy your week!

  4. That’s definitively worth to try. It looks delicious. Thanks for sharing.

  5. unknownmami says:

    I need to pin this. I would love to make it for my mom the next time she comes for a visit. Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

