Cook’s Kitchen Alchemy = Luscious Multigrain Wonders

For those of you suffering through the winter torrents of rain or the tempests of swirling snow, is there any better breakfast than hearty, wholesome and fresh multi-grain pancakes?  Yes, those white ones might be lighter, but without the extra oomph of good grains, they can leave you depleted and deprived from low sugar within an hour. To banish the gummy, gritty legacy of whole grain predecessors, the folks at Cooks Illustrated took on the challenge of creating a satisfying, flavorful updated recipe. Their success surpassed my expectations. Yummy, delightful, addictive, delectable – the words don’t do them justice.

Of course, I had to make a change. I had a lemon, don’t know why but I really wasn’t in the mood to squeeze the juice out. Besides I had buttermilk and although the author preferred the lemon into milk to get buttermilk over the flavor of using buttermilk – well it was one extra step in the morning I didn’t want to take. So, I used one cup of buttermilk and one cup of low fat milk. Love the results. I also used Bob’s Red Mill Muesli. It is no sugar added but does have dates and seeds (zip, nada, zilch preservatives, just watch your expy date). I watched the texture of the mix as had a concern that the volume of grain could be less, making my pancakes thinner, due to the volume of date and seed. No problem. I did not have to add any extra flour. Since I just opened the packet – the dates were nice and soft and worked well with the texture of the pancakes.  If you’re not a morning person, process the muesli and mix your dry ingredients the evening before. I also use butter in the pan (more than most folks) and don’t bother to clarify it – so you see the brown bits in the fry pan shot below, the buttery goodness finish on the cakes in the close-up and just generally how much I like butter J

This last shot is trying to capture how airy the pancakes come out (yes, my buttery edge hides it a bit. The shot doesn’t do them justice. You’ll just have to bake them up yourself to truly know.

15 comments on “Cook’s Kitchen Alchemy = Luscious Multigrain Wonders

  1. This is just the type of recipe I really love. I’m printing it off and trying it this week. Enjoy your weekend :). Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  2. Alea says:

    These look wonderful! I think it makes sense to use what you have readily available, so I would have gone with the buttermilk too.

  3. Maggie says:

    Thank you Miriam and Alea – Good news is the batter does pretty well in the fridge, so I’m getting to enjoy them again today!

  4. Trisha says:

    What a lovely way to incorporate the elements of muesli into a pancake. Great idea for breakfast and I can’t wait to try it.

  5. Well, I’m thinking I shouldn’t have looked at these on an empty stomach. I feel incredibly starving right now! I’m saving this recipe and off to eat something quick. Thanks so much for sharing these w/ the hearth and soul hop this week 🙂

  6. Your pancakes looks really lovely Maggie, and it is wonderful that they are good for you too!

  7. Miz Helen says:

    Oh Maggie, these look delicious, I would love to try them will you save me some…thank you for sharing and you have a great week!

  8. Think I will definitely have to try a batch of these on the weekend. Love the idea of a multi-grain pancake, and since blueberries are in season here right now I’m thinking a few of those might have to find their way in there just for the heck of it.
    Thanks for sharing them 🙂
    Sue

  9. Priyanka says:

    That looks beautiful and yummy…..

  10. I love trying new healthy pancake recipes. These look delicious!

  11. Melissa says:

    Those look really yummy! Thanks for sharing over at Tuesday Tell All.

  12. i prefer a dense hearty pancake to a light and fluffy one. yours looks fabulous! thank you for sharing with tuesday night supper club!

Leave a comment