Zintastico!

“Honey I’m Hoooome”

Okay, so I never saw Jack Nicholson in The Shining, not a fan of horror movies, but some movie phrases we all know. You may have noticed I’ve been a little absent lately and as I sit down to write this “honey, I’m home” has been dancing through my mind. I’ve had a great little break with out-of-state visitors, in-state visitors, demands of spring and, well yes work (but that’s a good thing).

Murphy’s California is a great little destination. . Newsome Harlow winery hosted their fourth annual Zintastico fest and it was fantastico. Zintastico is their party for wine club members with yummy appetizers and tasting of their new single-vineyard zinfandel releases plus samples of their futures. Luckily, my bud Kim is a member and we hit the patio party on opening day – the one with the best weather for their planned patio dining. Wine in one hand, appetizer in another – no place for a camera so I didn’t tote it along (check their web or Facebook for better pictures, that’s Christine and Barbara below, pic taken awhile ago). Now, you may find this odd, but a person who drinks white wine only at a zin tasting? Going to an event where oenophiles might look down their nose at your lack of sophisticated taste or appreciation for the reds? Eh, I was curious to taste their appetizers as Newsome has also opened a new kitchen adjourning their tasting room and the folks are generally a friendly bunch, no prevalence of looking down ones nose to judge. Plus, I expected accommodations for designated drivers so I’d certainly not die of thirst. Fortunately, they had a few whites open – and I now have a new favorite. Dry Muscat Blanc, mmmmm. Heavenly. They paired it with rock shrimp cakes with cilantro and chipotle candied oranges. Fish is ever popular on dinners I make for guests, and this is a really nice wine to pair with it. I’ll also give an official nod of approval to their Sauvignon Blanc.

Cheeses from Cowgirl Creamery, a California organic artisan cheese producer, were featured. I fell for their imported Manchego.  Other pairings that you Zin fans may want to be aware of were their Big John’s Vineyard with organic strawberry soup and a fried smoked mozzarella ravioli with crème fraiche. Do I need to add that from my perspective this was lovely with the above whites? Shake Ridge Ranch was paired with quail eggs with smoked salmon and basil-feta aioli over pumpernickel crostini; the Donner Party (yes, these are wines) was paired with a wild mushroom and roasted lamb tartlet, chimichurri and soft goat cheese; and Frank Herbert Vineyard was paired with s’mores crepes – graham flour crêpes sandwiched with dark milk chocolate and homemade rice marshmallow cream. If you have a chance to stop by The Kitchen at Newsome Harlow and they have either the shrimp cakes or the s’mores crepes on the menu that day – try them. I’d skipped both the lamb (don’t do red meats) and quail eggs, although I understand they were yummy as well.

The courtyard was packed with people wine and food. They have comfy couches, warmers and lots of seating – it’s always a great place to stop by. She’s firing up the fire pit within a table in this shot.

Another nifty thing for techno geeks – the label on the back of their bottles has a barcode you can scan with your smartphone to get info and a list of what pairs well with it. Twisted Oak  (I’ll write about them soon) also offers scanable info on their labels. 

If you enjoy crowds and wine tasting activities – Passport Weekend is a big deal, June 25th and 26th – culinary creations, barrel samplings, special discounts, fine art, live music, drawings, scenic venues and more. If you prefer quieter weekends – well, come on up any other weekend  for relaxed visiting.