Ohhhhh, so pretty!

Been keeping a few craft projects rolling along in the background here. One is the pillow project for the guest room. Loving these Art Deco – y butterflies from Embroidery Library stitched out on linen. Heirloom Butterfly and Floral Circle

Chose deeper but matching colors (Sulky threads) to the quilt will add a bit of punch. Had already made the chenille green pillows as the daybed is large and in need of quite a few more pillows to look as inviting as I’d like. I’m determined to finish these as pillows although I like them so much, I’m a bit inclined to just frame them.

 Heirloom Butterfly and Floral Square

There are clear step by step tutorials for everything (just check out the left column) related to machine embroidery at Embroidery Library’s project page. Perfect hooping, placement and stabilizer guides are available as well as hints for embroidering on any type of material. For linen – wash the fabric first as you plan to later, then starch the heck out of your piece. A medium weight cutaway stabilizer is a good choice for the weight of linen I like to work with. To later need to wash an embroidered piece, iron it while damp from the back of the piece.

Now, to border and stitch these into  pillows. Then, as this is the only frou frou room in the house, on to a ruffled pillow or two and one with a nice big bow.

This post is participating in the parties linked below.

7 comments on “Ohhhhh, so pretty!

  1. Robyn says:

    anything with butterflies and I generally love it – this is LOVELY!!! HOpe you have a fun pink weekend!

  2. LaVoice says:

    These are such pretty butterfly scenes. I love seeing this kind of neat work.

  3. So lovely, and you do really beautiful work! These are going to make simply stunning pillows!
    Happy REDnesday,
    Carol

  4. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Exquisite work! And the touches of red make it all the better!

    GIVE ME RED RIBBON

    Give me red ribbon to tie in my hair,
    Not yellow or purple or green;
    But burgundy, chestnut, carmine or rose—
    These are the colors with sheen!

    Give me red ribbon to tie in my hair,
    Not saffron or opal or blue;
    But fuchsia, magenta, ruby or blush—
    Something of sanguinous hue!

    Give me red ribbon to tie in my hair,
    Not indigo, azure or grey;
    But scarlet, vermilion, dahlia or pink—
    Colors like these make my day!

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    Narrow Red Alley

  5. patty hess says:

    Going to be lovely throw pillows for sure! Show pictures soon of your project.

  6. loriborrill says:

    Wow you did that embroidery by hand? You are very talented, so neat! It’s absolutely beautiful!

    • Maggie says:

      Gosh no Lori, it’s my handy dandy embroidery sewing machine with an Embroidery Library design (which I can then edit for size, colors, cut out parts, add parts, add type, combine designs – pretty cool). Not hand done – there isn’t enough time in my life to hand embroider things like this.

Leave a comment