Sundays in my Sierra town

Sunday and I’m planning the early spring garden. First, a handful of shots of Ironstone vineyards’ gorgeous wisteria arbor walkway (I have a house eating wisteria – keep starting cuttings and hope to move off the house onto an arbor). In winter you can see the bones of the structure.

The blooming shots are simply from my BlackBerry, taken in May.

Now’s the time to order or purchase your winter bulbs (for those of us north of the equator).

If you’re in a warm climate – you need to refrigerate tulips and a few others before planting. Even those of you in apartments can pick up a sack of Paperwhites to force in pretty little pots as extras for holiday presents – you could do it now for a Thanksgiving hostess gift. They only take 4 to 6 weeks from planting to bloom. Instructions for forcing bulbs are at Van Engelen, a bulb wholesaler with a great selection. Amaryllis are also simply stunning and easily bloom the first year when forced; plan 6 to 12 weeks for them.

In California, bags of bulbs have been showing up in stores this week. Depending on where you are, remember that tulips are like truffles to pigs for every squirrel and  rodent in the area (folks plant in cages if it’s an issue, I’m developing a love of daffodils – it’s easier). Many tulips naturalize in zones five or colder. For Northern Californians, Daffodils, Narcissus, Paperweights are poisonous, generally left alone and naturalize well. That’s why I’ve created posts with daffodil pictures (one) (and two) to motivate me.

 

30 comments on “Sundays in my Sierra town

  1. sheila says:

    Okay, I totally have to show my husband this post, especially the first pics! WOW! I need some of those! BEAUTIFUL!

  2. Oh my, your wisteria is simply amazing! And yes, you’re so right, it’s time to start thinking about bulbs. Great to have you be a part of Seasonal Sundays.

    – The Tablescaper

    • Maggie says:

      Oh I wish it was my wisteria – mine battles with me weekly in the growing months to get up adn under the eves – one must be diligent with a chainsaw if you allow one to grow “along your house”.

  3. Pam says:

    Beautiful shots!

  4. Mama Zen says:

    I’m using Firefox, and everything looks beautiful!

    • Maggie says:

      Good to know – Thanks! I’d really like to keep this theme but the scary thought that tens of thousands on folks in the BIG company I work for, or anyone else logging in from similar environments would see the icky header is really disturbing me. Hoping to hear (and see) it fixed.

      Yes, I have dreams of getting a nice arbor and them perfectly pruning the wisteria as the gardeners at Ironstone have.

  5. Do you realize I could get lost in here and never want to go? This is a treat!

    😀 The photos are superb. May I have a bunch of Amaryllis?

    Thank you for dropping by my blog.

  6. What fantastic photos!

  7. Wonderful shots. Lovely flowers. If you like, join us at PicStory this week. The topic is: wood! You are warmly invited 🙂

    • Maggie says:

      I certainly have wood around here to shoot – unfortunately just had someone remove all the old termite ridden pieces to the green dump last week, they’d have made an interesting study.

  8. Eva Gallant says:

    What beautiful photos! Sorry I haven’t responded to your comments before but I thought you were a spammer! So many of the Anonymous commenters are.

    • Maggie says:

      Gosh Eva – blogger makes me sign in with my wordpress account! You mean after going through like 5 clicks/steps I show anonymous – ohhh, that’s so aggravating.

  9. Wonderful post for the day, Maggie! I love the wisteria and your photos are superb! What a delight! Hope you’ve had a great holiday weekend!

    Sylvia

  10. eileeninmd says:

    Wow, I love the wisteria. Just beautiful. I have a fence that is screaming for some wisteria to be climbing on it. Lovely photos.

  11. KB says:

    Love the pics.

    Thanks for sharing with Walkabout

  12. Ebie says:

    These wisterias are so pretty, very well nestled in the beautiful arbors. The Huntington Gardens have the biggest trees and flowering wisteria here.

  13. Arija says:

    A beautiful post. I have spring blooming it’s hardest at the moment, from Muscari through to Tulips, the last of Prunus to Crabapple and all else in between but I am already contemplating my autumn lashing out on a few hundred tulips.

    Have a happy week!

  14. The wisteria is absolutely amazing….I think I’d find myself a seat to gaze at that glorious canopy above 🙂
    Enjoyed seeing your halloween guest towels – they are cute (as well as your cat…we’ve got a black cat as well – he’s so funny, he’d do exactly that – plop himself down where you were working!!)
    Enjoy the new week!!

  15. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    You live in Murphys? Once upon a time, I was your neighbor, a teacher in a neighboring school. Small world!

    RAINBOW DITTY

    Dibs of yellow and dabs of red—
    Rainbow colors go to my head!

    Dashes of gold and crimson too—
    Painted like this I can’t feel blue!

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    Sunflower Clowns

  16. BLOGitse says:

    Your header looks fine!
    So do your amazing May shots, beautiful!
    ps. If you want to try those flat rye crisps I’m sure they are okay too.
    Let me know how they were if you try them!

  17. startraci says:

    Just glorious! I want to come sit under that trellis, read a book and sip Sangria. It looks like a slice of heaven!

    🙂
    Traci

  18. Unknown Mami says:

    Beautiful.

    I am on firefox and everything looks fine.

  19. I am so in love with your Wisteria – it’s stunning!

  20. Denise says:

    Oh wow, such great photos. Especially love the Wisteria. I remember going to one of our local gardens and the scent of them I will never forget. Thanks Maggie.

Leave a comment